Student Awards 2023

A man with a mustache and beard holding an award certificate, a tall man wearing a suit and glasses standing in the middle and a woman with long hair holding an award certificate, all posing for a photo.

The following student awards were presented at Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine’s annual Dean’s Dinner on May 19, 2023. Each was received by a member of the DVM Class of 2023, unless noted otherwise.

Amelia Peabody Livestock Proficiency Award

  • Jessica Danielo

American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology Award

  • Trevor Copes

American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care

  • Rebecca Woodaman

American Association of Feline Practitioners/Eyles Family Award

  • Samantha Dolan

American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM) Certificate of Clinical Excellence in Neurology

  • Caroline Buckley

ACVIM Certificate of Clinical Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine

  • Aubrey Specht

American College of Veterinary Pathology Award for Excellence in Pathology

  • Ben Wasik

American College of Veterinary Surgery Foundation – Student Surgery Proficiency Award (small animal)

  • William Orrico

Clinical Excellence in Anesthesia Award (sponsored by Surgivet)

  • Elizabeth Miller

Craig Mabray, V83 Leadership Award

  • Kat King

Cummings Laboratory Medicine Award

  • Hannah Prutchi, V24

Cummings Large Animal Ultrasound Award 

  • Sydney Day

Dechra Excellence in Dermatology

  • Samantha Sherrick

Dechra Excellence in Equine Sports Medicine

  • Samantha Prusak

Dechra Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine

  • Kathryn Shaffert

Dr. Four Foot/Dr. Two Foot Scholarship
(sponsored by Veterinary Scholarship Trust of New England [VSTONE])

  • Samantha Scott

E. and S. Windsor Scholarship (sponsored by VSTONE)

  • Nicholas Manolakis

Elaine Arthur Wildlife Award

  • Ben Wasik

Excellence in Communication Award (sponsored by Bayer Animal Health

  • Caroline Buckley & William Orrico

Frank Zak, DVM, Food Animal Medicine Award (sponsored by VSTONE)

  • Dana Perry

Dr. George P. Faddoul Award (sponsored by VSTONE)

  • Mitchell Coburn

Irma E. Baron Humanitarian Award

  • Paulina Padron Sarachaga

Martin Simensen, DVM, Equine/American College of Veterinary Student Surgery Proficiency Award (large animal)

  • Kat King

North American Veterinary Anesthesia Society Award

  • Samantha Dolan

Richard J. Sheehan, DVM, Equine Award/ACVIM Certificate of Clinical Excellence in Large Animal Internal Medicine

  • Melissa Larkin

Sheila Moffat International Veterinary Medicine Award

  • Kylie McDaniel

Sylvia Mainzer Public Health Achievement Award

  • Laura Coughlin

Valerie Bates Humanitarian Award (sponsored by VSTONE)

  • Stella Elwood

Veterinary Cancer Society Student Award

  • Kathryn Shaffert

Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care Society Award

  • Mike Wallach

Zoological Companion Animal Medicine Award

  • William Orrico